Tax Information

Millage rate .52 cents per $100 in property valuation.

Residents in the city limits of Murphy pay an additional .42 cent city property tax, while Andrews residents pay a .52 cents per $100 valuation of property.

The most recent county revaluation was for 2020.

DMV & Tag Office

N.C. Department of Motor Vehicles Driver License Office is located at 1440 Main Street, Andrews, NC 28901 – Call 828-321-1442. Open 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday thru Friday.

N. C. Department of Motor Vehicles Tag Office is located at 1176 Andrews Road, Murphy, NC 28906. Call 828-837-2023. Office open from 9:00 a.m. to noon and 1-5 p.m. Monday thru Friday. When tags are renewed, residents of Cherokee County also pay their vehicle taxes at the tag office.

Local Government

Town of Murphy Offices:   5 Wofford Street, Murphy, NC 28906   |   (828) 837-2510   |   Website

Town of Andrews Offices:   1101 Main Street, Andrews, NC 28901   |   (828) 321-5111   |   Website

Cherokee County, NC:   75 Peachtree Street, Murphy, NC 28906   |   (828) 837-5527   |   Website

Police Departments

Murphy Police Department, Justin Jacobs, 93 Peachtree Street, Murphy NC 28906

Andrews Police Department, Chief Rocky Burrell, 101 Main Street (Town Hall building) Andrews, NC 28901

Cherokee County Sheriff’s Office, Sheriff Dustin Smith, 577 Regal St., Murphy, NC 28906

Cherokee Indian Police, Chief Ben Reed

Agriculture, Wildlife, and Forestry

Cherokee County Extension Office, Director – Doug Clement, 828-837-2210 Website

N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, Enforcement – Area Sgt. Brock Auvil, 828-557-1648

TVA Police Inspectors, Inspector Brad Johnson, 800-824-3861, Ext. 127

U.S. Forest Service Law Enforcement, District Ranger, Angela Gee, 828-837-5152

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.
© 2024 Cherokee County North Carolina • Tourism Development Authority